Corporate Trustee and Board of Directors

Charity Registration

The Brentwood Diocesan Trust is a Registered Charity, No 234092.

Legal Status

The Trust is administered by the Trust Corporation, Brentwood Roman Catholic Diocese Trustee, a Company incorporated on 13 March 1948 (Company Registration number 450897, Registered Office: Cathedral House, Ingrave Road, Brentwood, Essex CM15 8AT). It acts as sole trustee of most diocesan property.

The Company’s affairs are managed by its Board of Directors, of which the Bishop is ex officio President.

Bishop of Brentwood Rt Rev Alan Williams SM
Director Rev Mgr Canon Kevin Hale VG
Director Rt Rev Mgr Christopher Brooks MA PsL
Director Rev Dominic Howarth
Director Rev Stephen Myers
Director Mr Peter Johnson FRICS
Director Mrs Nicky Lyon
Director Mrs Maureen Okoye


Council of Priests

The Council of Priests’ main purpose is to foster the full participation of all the priests in the diocese in the ministry of the Bishop in our diocese.

It is principally a consultative body, as reflected in its membership, although in some areas the Bishop requires the consent of the Council in order to act.

Each Deanery is represented by the Dean and by another priest, elected by the brethren. The Vicar General is also a member, as are the Chancellor, Episcopal Vicars, the Diocesan Information Officer and the Director of the Ministry to Priests’ Programme.

The Council meets three times a year, in a way designed to co-ordinate with the Deanery Conferences – each Council meeting is preceded, and followed, by a Deanery Conference.

This allows questions and responses to be brought to the Council and to the Conferences. The Council has often established working-parties to consider particular topics and report back.

Chairman Rev Daniel Mason BA(Hons)
Secretary Rev David Pearce MA (Cantab) ACA BTh (Hons)

College of Consultors

The College of Consultors is appointed by the Bishop, in accordance with the Code of Canon Law, to serve for a term of five years.

At present, the functions of the College of Consultors have been entrusted by the Bishop to the Cathedral Chapter.

Cathedral Chapter

Penitentiary Canon Paul Bruxby JCL
Canon Peter Connor
Canon Maurice Gordon
Ceremoniarius Mgr Canon Kevin Hale VG
Canon Bob Hamill
Canon Niall Harrington
Canon John McGrath
Canon Andrew Headon
Secretary and Treasurer Canon John Harvey
Canon Martin O'Connor
Theologian Canon William Young MA, PhB, STL
Honorary Canon Tom Lavin


Bishop’s Council

The Bishop’s Council meets fortnightly and concerns itself with the operational day-to-day management of the Diocese. It comprises the Bishop, the Vicar General, the Episcopal Vicars and the Vicars for Consecrated Life.

Vicar General

Rev Mgr Canon Kevin Hale, VG. E-mail: [email protected].

Vicars for Consecrated Life

Sister Josephine Canny, OA. 020 8531 0466. E-mail: [email protected].

The Vicariates

Adult Formation

Rev Martin Boland. E-mail: [email protected].


Rev Stephen Myers. E-mail: [email protected].


Rt Rev Mgr Christopher Brooks. E-mail: [email protected]

Youth Ministry and Pastoral Care

Rev Dominic Howarth. E-mail: [email protected]